Who Rescued Who? or Who Rescused Whom?

Posted: March 29, 2011 in Grammar lessons
Tags: , , , , , ,

Oh dear.

Is it who or whom?

I have a simple trick to figure out the right one.

I really admire the bumper stickers with a paw print that states: “Who Rescued Who?”

It’s so cute and powerful and to the point. And it’s gramatically incorrect.

Try this next time: Flip the sentence around. Or better yet, answer the question.

Example: “Who rescused who or whom?” Complete the question.

“He rescused him.” Therefore, whom is the correct word.

If the answer is “him, her or them”, it’s whom.

If the answer is “he, she or they,” it’s who.

Example: “Who is going to the the dance?”

He is. Not him is.

Try it. See if it works.

Comments
  1. Mau says:

    Ha! I saw this magnet on a car, today. My reaction was, “I want one of …. Yikes; can’t put that on my car!”

  2. Ruth Chaplin says:

    It pained me to buy it because it was grammatically incorrect……but I bought it anyway.

  3. Heidi says:

    Before you start giving grammar lessons, you should really proofread your own posts. It’s rescued….not rescused. Appreciate you trying to help, but your post is more than confusing.

  4. Van says:

    So glad to read this. I bought the magnet because I think it says it all however, I was bothered by the grammar. My daughter and I are taking a white paint pen and changing it to “whom” before we use it!

  5. Jill Hershberg says:

    I saw the sticker. I thought immediately that it just didn’t sound right! I don’t know why I doubted myself. Too bad because it’s cute.

  6. Jen says:

    If the answer to the question is “she rescued me,” then which is correct?

  7. Cam says:

    I’m just so glad to know I’m not the only crazy one out there who won’t put one of these on my car due to the incorrect grammar.

Leave a Reply

